Presidential Dollar Mintages

Presidential Dollar Mintages
Thomas Jefferson Presidential Dollar

The first release of the series featuring George Washington had a mintage of more than 300 million pieces across the Philadelphia and Denver Mint facilities. After this brisk start, the mintages for subsequent issues of the Presidential Dollar Program would experience a fairly steady decline. While the new $1 coin series found a welcome reception with collectors, the coins failed to achieve widespread use within commerce.

Even with production significantly curtailed from earlier levels, stockpiles of excess dollar coins continued to build within Treasury vaults. The situation came to a head at the end of 2011 when the Treasury Department announced the decision to suspend production of the series for circulation.

From 2012 onwards, the Presidential Dollars have not been struck for circulation and only produced in the limited numbers necessary to fulfill demand from collectors. These coins were only available within numismatic bags and rolls offered by the U.S. Mint at a premium to face value. Accordingly, mintage levels for this portion of the series are significantly lower. The lowest mintage level for the series occurred with the 2013-D Woodrow Wilson release, which had 7,980,000 pieces minted across the Philadelphia and Denver facilities.

The table below displays the mintage figures for Circulating and Uncirculated coins. Click here to view mintages for Proof coins.

2007 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2007 George Washington176,680,000163,680,000340,360,000
2007 John Adams112,420,000112,140,000224,560,000
2007 Thomas Jefferson100,800,000102,810,000203,610,000
2007 James Madison84,560,00087,780,000172,340,000

2008 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2008 James Monroe84,560,00087,780,000172,340,000
2008 John Quincy Adams57,540,00057,720,000115,260,000
2008 Andrew Jackson61,180,00061,070,000122,250,000
2008 Martin Van Buren51,520,00050,960,000102,480,000

2009 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2009 William Henry Harrison43,260,00055,160,00098,420,000
2009 John Tyler43,540,00043,540,00087,080,000
2009 James K. Polk46,620,00041,720,00088,340,000
2009 Zachary Taylor41,580,00036,680,00078,260,000

2010 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2010 Millard Fillmore37,520,00036,960,00074,480,000
2010 Franklin Pierce38,220,00038,360,00076,580,000
2010 James Buchanan36,540,00036,820,00073,360,000
2010 Abraham Lincoln48,020,00049,000,00097,020,000

2011 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2011 Andrew Johnson35,560,00037,100,00072,660,000
2011 Ulysses S. Grant38,080,00037,940,00076,020,000
2011 Rutherford B. Hayes37,660,00036,820,00074,480,000
2011 James Garfield37,100,00037,100,00074,200,000

2012 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2012 Chester Arthur6,020,0004,060,00010,080,000
2012 Grover Cleveland (1st Term)5,460,0004,060,0009,520,000
2012 Benjamin Harrison5,640,0004,200,0009,840,000
2012 Grover Cleveland (2nd Term)10,680,0003,920,00014,600,000

2013 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2013 William McKinley4,760,0003,365,1008,125,100
2013 Theodore Roosevelt5,310,7003,920,0009,230,700
2013 William Howard Taft4,760,0003,360,0008,120,000
2013 Woodrow Wilson4,620,0003,360,0007,980,000

2014 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2014 Warren G. Harding6,160,0003,780,0009,940,000
2014 Calvin Coolidge4,480,0003,780,0008,260,000
2014 Herbert Hoover4,480,0003,780,0008,260,000
2014 Franklin D. Roosevelt4,760,0003,920,0008,680,000

2015 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2015 Harry S. Truman4,900,0003,500,0003,500,000
2015 Dwight D. Eisenhower4,900,0003,645,9988,545,998
2015 John F. Kennedy6,160,0005,180,00011,340,000
2015 Lyndon B. Johnson7,840,0004,200,00012,040,000

2016 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2016 Richard M. Nixon5,460,0004,340,0009,880,000
2016 Gerald R. Ford5,460,0005,040,00010,500,000
2016 Ronald Reagan7,140,0005,880,00013,020,000

2020 Presidential Dollar Mintages

2020 George H.W. Bush1,242,2751,502,4252,744,700
View Proof Mintages

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Presidential Dollar has the lowest mintage?

The lowest-minted mint state Presidential Dollars are the 2013-D William Howard Taft Presidential Dollar and the 2013-D Woodrow Wilson Presidential Dollar, which each have a mintage of 3,360,000. The lowest-minted Proof Presidential Dollar is the 2015-P Reverse Proof Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Dollar, which has a mintage of 16,744.

What is the mintage for Presidential Dollars?

The total mintage for the Presidential Dollar is 2,608,306,498. Mintages for each issue of the Presidential Dollar can be found by consulting the data above.

How many Presidential Dollars were struck?

The U.S. Mint struck a total of 2,608,306,498 Presidential Dollars from 2007 to 2020.

Where are Presidential Dollars produced?

The U.S. Mint has struck Presidential Dollars at the Philadelphia, Denver, and San Francisco Mint facilities.

How many varieties of Presidential Dollars have been produced?

The U.S. Mint struck 1 variety of the Presidential Dollar from 2007 to 2020.