On October 8, 2008, the United States Mint unveiled the designs for the 2009 Presidential Dollars for the first time. The next four releases of the Presidential Dollar coin series will honor former Presidents William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk, and Zachary Taylor.

Starting with 2009, the “In God We Trust” motto will be moved to the obverse of the coin. For the first two years of the series, the motto appeared on the edge lettering of the coin. The move follows public confusion about the location of the motto which led some people to call for a boycott of the new coin.

Each design is based on official White House portraits, intaglio prints, and medal designs. The coin honoring William Henry Harrison was designed and sculpted by Joseph Menna. The coin honoring John Tyler was designed and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill. The coin honoring James K. Polk was designed by Susan Gamble and sculpted by Charles Vickers. The final release of 2009 honoring Zachary Taylor was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.

The line art images released by the US Mint appear below:

2009 William Henry Harrison Presidential Dollar Design
William Henry Harrison Dollar
9th President (1841)

2009 John Tyler Presidential Dollar Design
John Tyler Presidential Dollar
10th President (1841-1845)

2009 James K. Polk Presidential Dollar Design
James K. Polk Presidential Dollar
11th President (1845-1849)

2009 Zachary Taylor Presidential Dollar Design
Zachary Taylor Presidential Dollar
12th President (1849-1850)